Goodnight (But Not Goodbye)

It’s been a while since I posted anything on this page. For this I am sorry. After a rather heartfelt message from a reader (to whom I’m sorry for the late reply) I felt I should pop back on and make a statement.

To be frank, I stopped writing because I had nothing else left to say. At least, nothing else that I felt strongly about saying. I set out to do what I had intended to, to write about the Seven Forms and my thoughts about Star Wars Lore as it applied to lightsabers and also share my knowledge about the community as best as I could without ruffling too many feathers. I did that, and I did it fairly well. Anything after that was icing. The reviews, the notes, the comments about choreography, I did that because I enjoyed it.

And then Life happened. It happens to all of us. Life is a chronic illness and flare ups can and eventually will prove fatal to ones hobbies. My Star Wars tabletop game went belly up for a number of reasons, I had started a day job on top of new freelance work (to which this site was one of the reasons I was hired, thank you for that) as well as my fiction-based Patreon. My schedule became full, and anything that helps pay the rent takes priority. Lightsabers aren’t about making money, and while I love the topic, I needed to focus on my work and my career.

In the meantime, I’m still teaching the occasional lightsaber class with Rogue Alliance and taught an independent class for larpers at a convention in February. I still have a few projects I’d like to get done, two final projects I wanted to do for the Seven Forms before I truly called it quits. That will take a while though, but if I mention it anywhere, I will mention it here first.

So, officially, I am on hiatus. This is Goodnight, but it is definitely not Goodbye.

May the Force Be With You.

Leave a comment